RUTX50 Will not forward ANY ports

Hi,

My RUTX50 will not forward a single port. I am an IT Engineer of 35 years and my friend and colleague the same for 30 years. Between us we have spent 6 hours trying to forward a couple of ports with zero success.

The router was on

RUTX_R_00.07.06.10

I have downgraded all the way to

RUTX_R_00.07.05.4

Still, no ports will forward.

We tried every combination possible, performed at least 5 factory resets to start fresh

We tried the following commands to allow all traffic
iptables -I INPUT -j ACCEPT - to accept ALL connections, and then
iptables -I FORWARD -j ACCEPT - to forward all traffic.

we also tried disabling the firewall completely with

/etc/init.d/firewall stop

I have another 4G router (Huwaeii) and using the same sim card it works fine!

As I have tried at least 4 different firmwares I cannot help but feel I am missing something but everywhere I look I should only be using the port forward section.

If anyone can offer some advice I would really appreciate it!

Hello,

To set up a port forward, you only need a port forward rule and to open the ports on both the device you’re forwarding from and the one you’re forwarding to.

Here’s an example of how to set up a port forward rule to forward HTTP traffic from WAN to another device connected to the RUTX50 on port 80:

I hope this helps. If you’re still experiencing issues, feel free to reach out again.

Best regards,

Many thanks for your reply!

Unfortunately, this is not working for me.

Please see the screenshots below, I am in this example trying to forward 2 ports (80,8096)

I have factory reset once again and just added the port forwarding

I look forward to your reply & again, many thanks!

Hello,

Have you opened these ports on RUTX50? I have shown how to do it for port 80 in the post above.

For other port traffic, a rule will be needed:

• Go to Network → Firewall → Traffic Rules and scroll to the bottom of the page.