Outbound stopped at Router gateway

Hi, Marija
I noticed this morning that none of my devices connecting by LAN or Wireless to my RUT240 RUT2_R_00.07.06.11 had Internet connectivity and that traceroute stopped at the router gateway address. I’m not a networking expert, so I am not exactly sure why I had to enable masquerading in the Zones section of the firewall for the LAN zone. This resolved the issue, but I need to know if this was the issue or if I stumbled across a work-around. If this was the issue, how did it get turned off? If it was a work-around, what could have been the actual cause?
I experimented with the SMS command mobileon and mobileoff for the first time yesterday. I ran a continuous ping, turned off data by SMS, ping failed, turned it back on and ping resumed. I also sent another mobileon command this morning, but still did not get connectivity. Could this have anything to do with it? Is this masquerading setting normally set to on? I will send this now and do further experiments because the router was also power cycled to move it from one location to another yesterday and back to the original location this morning.